Whether you create an auto message, broadcast message, or a drip email campaign, any email you send to your users using Gist will include a link to unsubscribe from your emails. This option is turned on automatically and you cannot change it.
Can a user unsubscribe from a particular campaign?
Yes, they can. When someone clicks the unsubscribe button in their email, they will have a choice to unsubscribe from just the current campaign, or from all email communication.
It is important to understand that if a user chooses the latter option, they’re unsubscribing from all email messages, not just messages belonging to that campaign, and you will not be able to send them any communication via email once they unsubscribe from your emails.
More importantly, you will have to be careful when sending the unsubscribed_from_emails value in your user data object. Using both our GistSettings JS snippet and the REST API value will overwrite the unsubscribed setting of your users. That means that if a user has already unsubscribed from your emails, there’s a strong possibility that they are re-subscribed again automatically, without their consent.
Can I manually unsubscribe users from my email Campaigns?
You cannot remove a particular user manually from your campaigns. You can, however, delete the user profile from the database. You can do this on the People page.
When you’re on the People page, search for the user you would like to delete, check the box next to their name, and then click the Delete button at the top.
Remember that this step is permanent and the user cannot be brought back unless they manually signup once again.