About Live Chat Notifications
By Jitta Rao
updated about 2 months ago
When you and your users participate in a conversation using the Gist live chat messenger, you both get different kinds of notifications.
Here is a brief review of notifications sent by Gist for live chat messages.
How can I get notified of new incoming messages?
Gist automatically sends browser push notifications to everyone on your team whenever a visitor starts a new conversation or replies to an existing conversation and no one on your team sees that message immediately.
These browser push notifications are shown permanently until you close them manually. This is helpful in case if you are away from your desk or computer because you can always come back to see what messages you missed.
If someone from your team is online and is viewing the message live, then no one else gets a browser push notification or email notification. This option is turned on by default and you can change it in your notification settings page.
Gist also sends email notifications when someone sends a message and no one on your team 'sees' that message within 2 minutes. If you or someone on your team click on the received message in the team inbox, and then types in a reply, then it is considered that the message has been read.
If you click on the message and read it but do not type in a reply, then it is regarded as 'not seen'. Please note that the email notification will only be sent to those agents who are inactive for more than 600 seconds (10 minutes). If the agent is active, they will not receive the email notification.
You or your teammates can also choose to turn off email notifications sent by Gist. To do that, go to Profile > My Profile > Notification Settings, or follow this link.
You can turn on the ‘Enable Chat Notification’ box if you would like to receive notifications whenever a new message is received.
This option is enabled by default, so you will get all kinds of notifications but you can always change these settings if you don’t want to receive them.
How will my users be notified when I reply to their messages?
If a user has your website open at the time you send them a reply, they'll see a new message bubble appear, along with a notification sound. If they have your website open in a tab in the background and are on another site or tab, the 'new message' notification sound will help them recognize the message.
The user also receives a browser push notification to prompt them to click back onto your site. In addition to these, the description of the tab that contains your website will be changed to 'AgentName says.. '
These notifications help grab the attention of your users so that they can come back and continue the conversation.
Note that for the above notifications to be sent to your users, they need to be 'online' - in other words, they need to be on your website. If they have closed your website, then they will not receive any browser notifications from Gist.
In that case, your user receives email notifications for all messages that you send them. But for this, they would need to add their email address in the chat messenger.
Important: You and your users both get email notifications for all chat messages that you missed.
You can reply either in the chat thread inside your team inbox, or you can reply to the email notification that you received, and your message will automatically be converted into a chat message and be sent as a reply. You can then take the conversation forward as you prefer, and continue the chat from thereon.
If they did not leave any email address, then they can only view your message if they revisit your website on the same computer and browser. If they visited on a different browser or computer, or if they have cleared cookies on their browser, then they would not be able to view your responses at all.
If you have any further questions, please start a Live Chat. Just "Click" on the Chat Icon in the lower right corner to talk with our support team.