Default roles and permissions
updated 11 months ago
Gist allows you to designate different levels of access to different teammates. Here we will discuss what each role of the default roles mean, the permissions available for each, and how to change roles.
By default, you can use the following roles to control access within your workspace.
Owner - An owner can access everything within your Gist workspace! This includes all conversations, and all settings including, billing, teammate management, security, and integrations. Note that this is the only role that can delete the workspace.
Super Admin - A super admin can do pretty much do everything an owner can except they cannot delete the workspace nor can they edit or remove the owner from the workspace.
Admin - An admin can do everything a super admin can except they cannot access billing section.
Support Manager - A support manager is a specialist role with limited access to marketing and sales products. They can access the Support Inbox and can reassign conversations to different teammates, delete replies and notes within a conversation.
Support Representative - A support representative is a specialist role with limited access to support, marketing and sales products. They can access the Support Inbox but cannot reassign conversations to different teammates or delete replies and notes within a conversation.
Collaborator with Support Seat - This is the most common default role, it has all the features available for the daily work of all teammates. They have full access to Support, Marketing and Sales products but cannot add and edit teammates and roles, or access the billing.
Collaborator without Support Seat - This role is another common default role esp. helpful when you need to invite a teammate with access to most parts of the workspace but do not want to assign a support seat.
The permissions of these default roles cannot be edited. Only certain default roles are available to certain plans. However, if you are on the Premium plans, you can create custom roles and permissions for your users.
List of Permissions
Here is a list of all the permissions that are granted to teammates using Gist's default roles.
|General||Owner||Super Admin||Admin||Support Manager||Support Representative||Collaborator with Support Seat||Collaborator without Support Seat|
|Edit workspace defaults||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Create and edit tags||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Add and remove domains||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Modify Marketing settings||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Modify Deal settings||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Access API Key||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Install, configure and delete apps||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Create and edit teammates||✅||✅||✅|
|Can manage billing settings||✅||✅|
|Can delete workspace||✅|
|Can change ownership of workspace||✅|
|Create and edit contact properties||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Bulk delete contact||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Conversation access||✅||✅||✅||✅||Assigned only||✅|
|Delete replies and notes||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Create and edit saved snippets||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Modify Messenger settings||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Modify Inbox settings||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Create and edit routing rules||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Can access live view||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Modify Knowledge Base settings||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Create and edit forms||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Create and edit automations||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Create and edit events||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
|Create and edit deals||✅||✅||✅||✅||✅|
If you have any further questions, please start a Live Chat. Just "Click" on the Chat Icon in the lower right corner to talk with our support team.